FoodSaver questions | Taste of Home Community  
Show Subscription Form

FoodSaver questions

Last post Sep 01, 2003 5:38 PM by Josephus . 13 replies.

Forum Jump:
Page 1 of 1 (14 items)
  • FoodSaver questions
    I have a FoodSaver and was wondering the proper way to vacuum seal fresh veggies and fruits, for the freezer. For example, I bought fresh green beans. Can I vacuum seal them raw or should they be blanched first?
    What about fruits like strawberries, etc?
    Thanks
    False
  • RE: FoodSaver questions
    Joiful, I'm new at the Food Saver experience, too. As for green beans, they should be blanched first. I would freeze the blanched green beans and strawberries on cooky sheets first and then seal them in bags. My SIL thought she was doing me a big favor and washed a big bagfull of her home grown green beans. She then put the big bag in the freezer. I never told her but I had to throw them away.
    Have fun with your Food Saver!
    Rosemary
    False
    HI joiful! The reason to blanche your green beans, broccoli, etc. is that the produce itself contains enzymes that ripen it--they continue to work after it's picked so if you don't blanche before you freeze they get 'over-ripe' & mucky.

Freezing on cookie sheets first is a good idea if you want a 'loose pack'--but not necessary if you freeze in meal-size portions. I did strawberries this way, but unfortunately my freezer was defrosted inadvertantly and they all melted and refroze together!
    False
    Thanks MaRose, I appreciate your help. I will blanch the green beans and then freeze them first. Regarding the strawberries, if I want to freeze these in a foodsaver bag, do I do anything special to them? Do you just wash them, freeze on a cookie sheet and then seal in bag?
    Thanks so much for taking the time to help!
    False
    Patty, thank you too! Your explanation was very helpful!
    False