How to make jam thicken? | Taste of Home Community  
Show Subscription Form

How to make jam thicken?

Last post Jan 05, 2012 7:18 PM by 6553133 . 11 replies.

Forum Jump:
Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
  • How to make jam thicken?

I am new to canning-just started this year. The first batch of jam I ever made (strawberry) set up beautifully-turned out so well I may just enter it inthe county fair. Then I made more, which did not set up, so I had to open the jars and re-cook it. The restof it, the blackberry (16 half pints) and the apricot-pineapple (12 pints) never set up. I am following the directions to the letter, but don't know what i m doing wrong.I am becomming a pro at opening all the jars and re-cooking  all of it (it does set then). Anybody know what to do out there? Thank you in advance for your help!!

False

"Practice random acts of kindness"

• Re: How to make jam thicken?

I am not an expert but I believe that you didn't have enough pectin in your fruit.  Locals around here use tart apples to add to their jam for pectin.  I also read in a book that once it fails - just use it for a sauce on pancakes or ice cream - people call it sass.  I love to can, not too experienced with jam and jellies although I am learning.  Wish you luck,

Janet

False

Did you use certo or some other brand, they often have a 800 number to call for help with not setting up

False