question about canning meatless spaghetti sauce.... | Taste of Home Community  
Show Subscription Form

question about canning meatless spaghetti sauce....

Last post Jul 30, 2012 11:17 PM by omamcm . 20 replies.

Forum Jump:
Page 1 of 2 (21 items) 12
  • question about canning meatless spaghetti sauce....

I am new to canning and so far I have done it all using a pressure cooker.  I would like to can my own spaghetti sauce and have found a meatless recipe I would like to try , but none of the recipes I have found tell me how to do it in a pressure cooker.  I need to know what pressure to cook it on and for how long.  Can anyone help me? 

I would also like to try salsa, but again can't find out how long and at what pressure.

Thanks in advance!

Chris

False
  • Re: question about canning meatless spaghetti sauce....

Chris:  good luck on your canning.  Not sure if I will have anything to can the way the garden looks.  I haven't canned spaghetti sauce for several years but the one I used, I pressured according to our Extension handout.  It says to pressure meatless spagh. sauce @ 10 lb. pressure - 20 min for pints and 25 min for qt.  I also add the recommended 2 T. lemon juice/qt (or 4 T vinegar/qt.) to each jar before filling it.

Not sure about Salsa, might try this site homefoodpreservatioon.com    Nancy

False

Go to your library and borrow a canning book or:

Go to your County Extension Service,(it is in your phone book)  they will give you copies of the latest recommendations and time tables for canning just about everything   ( from the Department of Agriculture, it's free).

Didn't you get a book when you bought your pressure canner???

False

Thanks for the information.  I'll call our Ag dept tomorrow.