Remember the graduation cedar chest? | Taste of Home Community  
Show Subscription Form

Remember the graduation cedar chest?

Last post May 29, 2011 6:39 PM by colleen10 . 27 replies.

Forum Jump:
Page 2 of 2 (28 items) 12
  • Re: Remember the graduation cedar chest?

richlinKy

Girl's today don't care about such things.

I agree with that. My parents sold their home a few years back and gave me my cedar chest which I apparently never knew was mine. We put it in DD's bedroom so she could have it now since MY DH built me a cedar chest rbefore we were married. DD wants to get rid of my other one.

False

Every day I’m shufflin’

I got my cedar chest when I graduated at age 16, 72 years ago.  I still have it, but is now down in the tack room in the barn holding horse blankets....never did have a miniature one.

False

I still have my miniature cedar chest, and I'm using it as a jewelry box...it's now 55 years old.Yes

False

I still have mine! It's in my bedside stand.  Smile

I also have a regular cedar chest at the foot of the bed that I store clothes in. I rotate summer clothes/winter sweaters.

False

I got one at graduation. I kept it for years but when the kids hit their terrible twos a lot of my costume jewelry and trinket boxes were destroyed.

We had a couple of jewelry stores that gave every graduate a miniature teaspoon pin. The idea was to get the girls to pick a pattern so people could give them silverware then or later when they married.

False

richlinKy

Girl's today don't care about such things.

I don't know that it's that they don't care...I think it's more of a case that it's no longer necessary.  Anymore, most girls finish school and live on their own or with friends before (and if) they get married.  I know when I got married I already had a house full of stuff (and had to start all over again once I divorced).

False