How long does it take for a check to clear? | Taste of Home Community  
Show Subscription Form

How long does it take for a check to clear?

Last post Nov 18, 2005 3:26 PM by Tallan_NC . 12 replies.

Forum Jump:
Page 1 of 1 (13 items)
  • How long does it take for a check to clear?
    DH and I have been using the same bank for a few yrs now. Whenever we would deposit our payroll checks (from a different but in town bank), our funds would be available the next business day. Well our bank merged with another bank and now they are saying 3 business days. What the crap (pardon my French LOL)! When its going out its out within hrs yet coming in it takes 3 days??????
    False
  • RE: How long does it take for a check to clear?
    Three business days? Not uncommon, but a big pain in the you-know-what.

I would open an account at the bank that your payroll checks come from. Then they would probably clear on the same day. Or else, cash your checks at the other bank and deposit the cash in your current bank.
    False
    "...good things come to those who wait. True, but unless you're making a souffle or catching the bus, better things come to those who do something."--Amy Alkon demotivational posters
    see more
    it should be happening quick, not slower!
    bet they cash the checks you write in a hurry
    False
    You'd be surprised at how many payroll checks bounce! That's why the bank usually holds the money until the check clears unless you have enough in your checking account to cover it. Usually any check you deposit will be held until it clears.
    False
    Would the initials of this bank happen to be W.F. by any chance? I absolutely loathe this bank, I'd rather hide my money in a coffee can in the backyard than bank with them. I'm a bookkeeper and the company I work for banks with W.F., but we'll be changing soon!!
    False
    Another fleecing of America.
    False