Flat Iron Steak--What to do with it? | Taste of Home Community  
Show Subscription Form

Flat Iron Steak--What to do with it?

Last post Oct 03, 2009 2:25 PM by cast_iron_king . 16 replies.

Forum Jump:
Page 1 of 2 (17 items) 12
  • Flat Iron Steak--What to do with it?

Something new and different.  I'm open to suggestions.

False

I don't often get asked to define irony, but when I do, I always say,

"Why, yes.  Yes, I AM a Field Editor for Taste of Home."

• Re: Flat Iron Steak--What to do with it?

Braise it.  Brown it up well and then cook in liquid - stock with a little wine works, some onion.

False

They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. Ben Franklin

Well, for God's sake, what ever you do, don't talk about it's sex life. LOL LOL LOL

False

Not sure what you typically make with your flat iron, but here are a few suggestions from my kitchen

Steak and frites  

Steak au poivre 

Pan seared topped with chimichurri.  Love to dip bread in the chimichurri sauce.

Pan seared topped with a blue cheese cream sauce...or make a blue cheese alfredo sauce to serve with the steak.  

Thinly slice and make a steak sandwich.  My family's favorite is on a ciabatta roll with carmelized onions, arugula, and a sauce made from mayo, sour cream, dijon, and whole grain mustard. I can dig up the right proportions of the sauce if you'd like.   

I love Tyler Florences fajita marinade with a flat iron

Sliced for a salad made with greens, blue cheese, cherry tomatoes, onions.

False
  • Re: --What to do with it?

A Flat Iron Steak isn't new, its just the same old tough, Top Blade Steak that your granny cooked, just gussied up with a different name... and probably a higher price tag too. Since its cut from the chuck, you know there will be lots of flavor from all the connective tissue, so it is best suited to wet cooking methods.

Can you say Pressure Cooker?

False

"Wit is educated insolence." Aristotle