Forgot to put the eggs away--help! | Taste of Home Community  
Show Subscription Form

Forgot to put the eggs away--help!

Last post Aug 27, 2012 8:14 AM by lilmouthy . 13 replies.

Forum Jump:
Page 1 of 1 (14 items)
  • Forgot to put the eggs away--help!

I came home from the store so very proud of how I came in at $14.00 under our newly set budget, then a little while ago I noticed that a bag containing a dozen eggs was never unpacked and put away!  I estimate their time from store fridge to my fridge to be about 5 hours.  Do you think they are okay?

Sure appreciate your thoughts!

False
  • Re: Forgot to put the eggs away--help!

Yes, they're fine.  Put them away now.

False

I don't often get asked to define irony, but when I do, I always say,

"Why, yes.  Yes, I AM a Field Editor for Taste of Home."

They should be fine.  If in doubt, the way I always tell if an egg is good or not is by submerging them in water.  If they float to the top they are bad. 

False
    Witty Whitney!

People kept eggs on the counter long before they had fridges and we're all still here. They're fine. I leave any eggs I'm going to be using in a recipe on the counter for hours before using them, something about being room temp seems to make them work better.

False

I'm not psycho.....I just like psychotic things.

Adria's World

Great trick, thanks!!!

False

Thanks for your advice all!  I feel okay about them now.  Would have disliked throwing them out!

False