ISO: turtle candy recipe uses homemade caramel | Taste of Home Community  
Show Subscription Form

ISO: turtle candy recipe uses homemade caramel

Last post Dec 23, 2010 6:32 PM by tinygirl58 . 11 replies.

Forum Jump:
Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
  • ISO: turtle candy recipe uses homemade caramel
    I believe it was posted a few days ago a wonderful turtle recipe where you make caramel using sweetened condessed milk.... but then you pour that on the pecans and then you put the melted chocolate on that. Does any one know what recipe I mean?? I do not want any recipe that use the caramels you unwrap, thanks.
    False
    Amy
  • RE: ISO: turtle candy recipe uses homemade caramel
    bump for help
    False

RE: recipe for turtles
    Posted by: Charles Posted on: 11/25/2001 7:33:03 AM
    #R68594

Hi Sandra L.
    Here is a recipe for turtles. They are a bit twiddly to put together, but once you have tasted them you'll never, NEVER, make any others. I have been making these for twenty years, and it just isn't Christmas without them.

First of all you'll need some plastic candy molds. I get mine at our bulk food store, and they actually look like turtles. I use about six, you could do with less, it would just take a little longer. I also can't tell you measurements, because I just estimate, but read on and give them a chance.

You'll need:
    1. The candy moulds, I use a medium size.
    2. Eagle Brand Condensed Milk (The cheaper versions are just as good)
    3. Semi-sweet chocolate wafers (bulk food stores).
    4. Pecans, whole, chopped, whatever is preferred (this is optional, they're great without them also).

Carmelize the condensed milk.(directions are on this b.b. or at the eaglebrand website).
    Melt chocolate wafers a bit at a time over a double boiler.