NEED HELP! What do you take for a Funeral Luncheon | Taste of Home Community  
Show Subscription Form

NEED HELP! What do you take for a Funeral Luncheon

Last post Oct 29, 2007 3:46 PM by JosieSue . 21 replies.

Forum Jump:
Page 1 of 2 (22 items) 12
  • NEED HELP! What do you take for a Funeral Luncheon
    Hello Everyone
    My DH and I joined a new church. They called me last night and asked me to prepare something for a Funeral Luncheon. I asked what they would like, they said anything.
    Has anyone here ever provided food for a Funeral ? What do you make?

Thank you in advance for your help.
    False
  • RE: NEED HELP! What do you take for a Funeral Luncheon
    We do this all the time. Usually the caller will say here is my menu, you pick something and make for 20 people or 30 people whatever. I think since this is my first time, I would make a nice bowl of potatoe salad or a desert, and if possible, put it in throw away dish. That way the family does not have to worry with bringing the dishes back to you. Whatever you decide, it will be appreciated.
    False
    I think anything you would take to a potluck dinner would be fine for this. We do this at our church too. Typically our church will pay for fried chicken and we bring all of the side dishes and desserts. In the past I've taken potato dishes, mac & cheese, meatballs, pasta salads, cakes, pies, and different veggies, just to give you some ideas. Take whatever you know you make well and can makes a big dish. I'm sure it'll be fine!
    False
    Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are. "John Wooden"
    This recipe is always a huge hit.
    This version posted by Karolin.

Hashbrown Casserole

1 2-lb package frozen hashbrowns, thawed
    1/3 cup margarine, melted
    1 pint sour cream
    1 can cream of chicken soup
    1 tsp garlic salt
    1/2 tsp pepper