Help roasting turkey in a Roaster Oven 18 qt Hamilton Beach | Taste of Home Community  
Show Subscription Form

Help roasting turkey in a Roaster Oven 18 qt Hamilton Beach

Last post Nov 14, 2012 4:46 AM by annrms . 12 replies.

Forum Jump:
Page 1 of 1 (13 items)
  • Help roasting turkey in a Roaster Oven 18 qt Hamilton Beach
    I've never done a turkey in one of these before & need help please.
    Can I stuff the turkey? How long is it going to take per lb per minute & @ what temp?
    We have to go to Erin's for Thanksgiving as Chris can not travel. She has a roaster oven she has never used & directions do not mention stuffing the turkey times.
    Thanks,
    Marie
    False
  • RE: Help roasting turkey in a Roaster Oven 18 qt Hamilton Beach
    I bumped some posts up for you. I am not certain if stuffing was mentioned in them. Maybe someone that has done this can answer.

Alliea
    False

Susan-Serving as a Taste Of Home Field Editor since 2009

Marie-I do my every year in my 18 qt roaster and I cook it on 325º for about 3 1/2 hrs for a 12 pound one it is falling off the bone

The oven will only do a turkey up to about 20 pounds. You need to leave the lid on, or the temp gets too variable. Water in the bottom steams the meat, as does the foil, some folks like this, I don't. Using the screen rack is a good idea, the heating coil is right under the bottom of the well and it can scorch and stick right there.

If you are not carving at the table, turkey parts are easier to roast in this small oven.

Temps and times are about the same as for a regular oven, do not stuff the turkey, it does not heat evenly enough to be completely satisfactory. To roast turkey:
    Preheat electric roaster to 350 to 400 degrees.
    *Roast a 10 to 14 lb. turkey for 12 to 17 minutes per pound.
    *Roast a 14 to 20 lb. turkey for 13 to 18 minutes per pound.

False
    In loving memory of Suzy

Redraspberrygirl Posted on: 11/16/2006 11:31:14 PM
    #R8361491
    How to Roast Turkey