WATERY POTATO SALAD!!!!! | Taste of Home Community  
Show Subscription Form

WATERY POTATO SALAD!!!!!

Last post Aug 25, 2012 4:44 AM by annrms . 21 replies.

Forum Jump:
Page 1 of 2 (22 items) 12
  • WATERY POTATO SALAD!!!!!
    Hi Everyone,

I'm kind of new to this BB and have to say that it is just soooo fun and informative. Now I have a question that I just know some of you experts can help me with. Why does potato salad get "watery" sometimes after it sits in the fridge for a while (and why sometimes does it NOT get watery?) Is it the type of potato?? I made some yesterday evening to have for dinner tonight, and it was gross!!

Thanks in advance!
    False
  • RE: WATERY POTATO SALAD!!!!!
    Bump!
    False
    Stimpy Click for Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin Forecast
    Glad you're having fun here. What do you use to dress your potato salad with? Maybe you're adding too much liquid? And are you letting the potatoes dry and cool enough? To make my potato salad thicker I usually "overcook" a couple of the potatoes, then I mash them and mix them with the mayonnaise, vinegar and seasonings I use to dress the salad. It makes it nice and thick.
    False
    My guess is the potatoes are too warm when making the salad. I always let mine cool completely.
    False

I have to throw a monkey wrench in here. I alway make potato salad with very warm potatoes. The potatoes seem to absorb the dressing better that way.

Are you cooking the potatoes in the jacket? I think if the potatoes are peeled before cooking they retain alot of the cooking water. JMHO. Carol
    False

Carol

I cook the potatoes one day and make the salad the next, that helps also don't use light mayo or salad dressing, that will help cause the problem, besides IMHO it doesn't taste as good as regular mayo or salad dressing. Judy
    False

IN GOD WE TRUST