Freezable Casseroles | Taste of Home Community  
Show Subscription Form

Freezable Casseroles

Last post Mar 16, 2007 6:32 PM by nosyposy . 9 replies.

Forum Jump:
Page 1 of 1 (10 items)
  • Freezable Casseroles
    I'm having 6 guests for three or four days the week of Easter. I'm not good at cooking for a large group especially when they're waitig or in the kitchen with me. Can you please share some things I can make ahead, freeze, and just take them out and put them in the oven. I can handle salads and desserts. Thanks; I am so appreciative of your help.
    False
  • RE: Freezable Casseroles
    What about Alfredo Chicken.

In a 9x13 dish, place chicken with the thickest parts to the outside of dish. Pour over 1/2 cup of water. Cover with plastic wrap and poke 6 -8 holes with a knife over top. Microwave 8 minutes, carefully turn chicken over and cook 5-6 minutes more.
    You may need to poke one to be sure it is done.
    You can freeze these, and on the day you serve, let them thaw: pour Alfredo Sauce over the tops and bake (or nuke) until thoroughly heated.
    These are very good served with either rice, noodles or mashed potatoes and a salad, and dessert.

A very simple dessert is to take
    1 can Cherry Pie Filling
    2 pkg. Cherry Jell-O
    2 cups boiling water
    1 1/2 cups 7-Up or Tropical Soda

Prepare as directed, then mix in pie filling. Stir well and chill.

To Garnish:
    Cool Whip
    Chocolate Chips
    Nuts

Cherie - IN †
    False
    I forgot to say when you go to reheat them pour off the water.

Cherie
    False
    Thanks, Cherie.
    False
    Cheesy Potatoes

2lb bag frozen hashbrowns
    1lb velveeta-cubed
    1 stick butter
    1 can cream of potato
    1 can cream of chicken
    8oz sour cream

Mix all ingredients except hashbrowns in a large saucepan. Cook over medium heat until cheese is melted. Stir in hashbrowns. Pour into a greased 9x13 pan and bake at 425 until golden and bubbly about 35-40 minutes.