ISO: Barbecue sauce for a pig roast. | Taste of Home Community  
Show Subscription Form

ISO: Barbecue sauce for a pig roast.

Last post May 10, 2004 8:43 AM by Marcyo56 . 14 replies.

Forum Jump:
Page 1 of 1 (15 items)
  • ISO: Barbecue sauce for a pig roast.
    Does anyone have a good barbeque sauce for a full pig roast? Please not spicy. I am looking for something kind of sweet and tangy. this is my first time doing this, and I am hoping someone has a great sauce to share? thanks!
    False
  • RE: ISO: Barbecue sauce for a pig roast.
    Welcome to the board from Texas.
    Have never cooked a whole pig before either but have enjoyed it after its cooked.
    There are lots of great cooks on the board, so I'm sure someone will come through for you.

Nancy from Texas
    False

Blessed are those that can give without remembering and take without forgetting.

That was suspose to be a welcome siggy!!

Nancy
    False

Blessed are those that can give without remembering and take without forgetting.

Thanks so much grandma! I am hoping that someone will help me? This BB never has failed me yet! Happy Mothers day to you!!
    False
    BUMPING
    False
    PIG ROAST BARBECUE SAUCE

1 qt. prepared barbecue sauce
    2 qts. cider vinegar
    4 tbsp. salt
    1 1/2 tbsp. black pepper
    1/4 sm. bottle Worcestershire sauce
    Bay leaf
    1 tbsp. sugar
    Combine all ingredients. Boil for 2 minutes and then simmer sauce for 15 minutes. Baste roasting pig.

False
    PIG ROAST ON A SPIT

Whole suckling pig (60 lb. average)
    1 lb. black pepper
    25 to 30 garlic cloves
    Garlic powder
    Rosemary
    Salt
    10 pounds onions
    5 lbs. stuffing
    3 to 4 c. shortening
    4 ft. chicken wire
    Meat thermometer
    Needle and string
    Chopped apples and walnuts (optional)

Clean pig and dry. Cut slits in skin and insert garlic cloves.
    Coat with shortening. Prepare stuffing and combine with cut up