WHAT IS CARDAMOM AND WHAT DOES IT TASTE LIKE???? | Taste of Home Community  
Show Subscription Form

WHAT IS CARDAMOM AND WHAT DOES IT TASTE LIKE????

Last post Jul 23, 2004 8:15 PM by bagelbaker_OH . 13 replies.

Forum Jump:
Page 1 of 1 (14 items)
  • WHAT IS CARDAMOM AND WHAT DOES IT TASTE LIKE????
    I have an interesting recipe here that I'd like to try "Cottage Street Bakery Dirt Bombs". It calls for 1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom. I've never used cardamom before nor have I ever tasted it (that I know of). Would love to know what it tastes like, strong taste, etc.

Thanks,

Barb
    False
  • RE: WHAT IS CARDAMOM AND WHAT DOES IT TASTE LIKE????
    It has sort of a spice - ginger/nutmeg type flavor. A little different, but very flavorful - I like it. It is used in some Swedish cakes and cookies - also in some breads.
    Triainatlanta
    False
    Tria
    Actually, it is cardamon -

see the posts below:

Posted by: bebeblues Posted on: 1/29/2003 1:07:37 PM
    #R1072826
    Substitutes: brown cardamom OR equal parts ground nutmeg and cinnamon OR equal parts ground cloves and cinnamon OR nutmeg OR cinnamon

RE: cardamon
    Posted by: TROOPERCOZ Posted on: 1/29/2003 1:11:43 PM
    #R1072847
    I looked this up in my cook book and it says that ground ginger is a substitution for the cardamom. I have looked for it too and was surprised at how much it costs. My cookbook says that cardamom is "spicey-sweet with peppery and ginger-like tones." I hope that this helps!! Let me know if you try it.

Erica

False
    Tria