Using frozen pie shells | Taste of Home Community  
Show Subscription Form

Using frozen pie shells

Last post Nov 27, 2009 6:31 AM by PeytonsMimi_NC . 9 replies.

Forum Jump:
Page 1 of 1 (10 items)
  • Using frozen pie shells

I usually use the Pillsbury pie crusts for my pies. However, tomorrow I will be using the frozen ones already in the pie pan. I am making pumpkin pie..should I unthaw them before baking? I have never used them before.

False
  • Re: Using frozen pie shells

I don't know how others do it; but I always thaw mine before putting the filling in and baking.

Nancy

False

Proudly serving as a Taste of Home Field Editor since 2002, Grand Prize Winner, First Prize Winner and Honorable Mention

Hi, Bonnie!  When I've used frozen pie crusts, I let them come to room temperature before baking.

Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving Day!

~~Vicki

False

Happy Thanksgiving, Nancy!

~~Vicki

False

Thanks for the replies. I shall take them out of the freezer tonight. Happy Thanksgiving to you Vicki and you too Nancy. :) 

False

I have always used my own pie crust recipe but today I used the NO ROLLING PIN REQUIRED!!recipe. It is called Penzy's No Roll Pie Crust. I don't know who posted it but it is so easy and was fantastic! I made 2 pecan pies today and tomorrow I will make a Bumbleberry Pie and I will use that pie crust recipe again. What I like about it is mixing it up in the pie plate!

False
     Click for Kenai, Alaska Forecast

Karen could you post this pie crust? I get the Penzey catalog but must have been in their magazine? Thank you!

Marlene

False
    Marlene Johnson

Marlene - I'm not Karen but I thought I'd try googling the Penzey pie crust recipe and here's what I found.  I think I'll try it myself next time I need one.  I've already used the Pillsbury ones for my Thanksgiving pies today.

No Roll Pie Crust    (from Penzey's website)